

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## JOINT COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

REP. DOUGLAS WOZNIAK CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, March 12, 2025

4:39 PM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Joint Committee on Administrative Rules was called to order by Chair Wozniak.

The Chair requested attendance to be called:

Present: Reps. Wozniak, Johnsen, Wortz and Farhat.

Sens. Wojno, Bayer, McMorrow, Theis and Runestad.

Absent: Rep. Brenda Carter. Excused: Rep. Brenda Carter.

Senator Wojno moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 05, 2025. There being no objection, the motion prevailed with unanimous consent.

The Chair laid JCAR 25-20 (MOAHR No. 2022-16LR) Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Construction Codes - Construction Code - Part 5. Residential Code before the committee.

The Chair laid JCAR 25-19 (MOAHR No. 2021-48LR) Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Construction Codes - Construction Code - Part 10. Michigan Uniform Energy Code before the committee.

Paige Fults and Andrew Brisbo, representing the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20 and rule set JCAR 25-19. Questions and discussions followed.

Bob Filka, Aaron VanderMuelen, Clint Hall, and Michele J. Chirco, Esq., representing the Home Builders Association of Michigan, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20. Questions and discussions followed.

Anton Tomasin, representing the Reciprocal Electrical Council INC., testified in support of rule set JCAR 25-20.

Rick Boisvert, representing the Michigan Fire Inspectors Society, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20.

Stan Barnes, representing the Fire Service, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20.

Chris Mantels, representing the Allegan County Fire Chiefs, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20.

Gerald O'Connor, representing the Eaton Corporation, testified in support of rule set JCAR 25-20.

David McAnally, representing the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs, testified on rule set JCAR 25-20.

Brian Baughman, representing the National Electrical Manufacturers Association, testified in support of rule set JCAR 25-20 and rule set JCAR 25-19. Questions and discussions followed.

Grace Michienzi, representing the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council, testified in support of rule set JCAR 25-19.

Jeff Yaroch, representing himself, testified in support of rule set JCAR 25-20. Questions and discussions followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-20, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Don Iverson, representing Schneider Electric.

David Williams, representing the International Association of Electrical Inspectors.

Bryan Benten, representing the National Electrical Contractors Association Michigan Chapter.

Bert Gale, representing Ionia County, Lansing Township, and the International Association of Electrical Inspectors.

The following people submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-20, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Carlee Knott, representing the Michigan Environmental Council.

Alison Lindburg, representing the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance.

The following person submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-20 and rule set JCAR 25-19, but due to the time constraints was unable to speak:

Kevin McNeely, representing McNeely Building Group LLC.

The following person submitted a card, but due to the time constraints was unable to speak: Woody Gontina, representing himself.

The following people submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-20 and rule set JCAR 25-19, but did not wish to speak:

Courtney Brady, representing Evergreen Action.

Stephanie Glidden, representing Evergreen Action.

David Lossing, representing the Huron River Watershed Council.

The following people submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-20, but did not wish to speak:

Aaron Pangborn, representing the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers State Conference.

August Voisine, representing the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 692 Bay City.

John Crandall, representing himself.

David Worthams, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

The following people submitted a card in support of rule set JCAR 25-19, but did not wish to speak:

Alexis Blizman, representing the Ecology Center.

Horst Schmidt, representing the Upper Peninsula Environmental Coalition.

David Guard, representing the Michigan Energy Efficiency Contractors Association.

Brett Little, representing the Green Home Institute.

Isaac Enecave, representing the Passive House Institute US.

Marta Johnson, representing the Climate Cabinet.

Derrell Slaughter, representing the Natural Resources Defense Council.

Jacob Serfling, representing the Midwest Building Decarb Coalition.

Scott Ringlein, representing the Energy Alliance Group.

Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club.

Lauren Bigelow, representing the Capitol Growth Network.

Ed Rivet, representing the Conservative Energy Forum.

Mike Berkowitz, representing Elevate.

Robin Lisowski, representing Slipstream.

Dr. Lisa Del Buono, representing Michigan Clinicians for Climate Action.

Nicholas Occhipinti, representing the Michigan League of Conservative Voters.

The following people submitted a card, but did not wish to speak:

Kellogg Dipzinski, representing the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Labor Union 948 Flint, Michigan.

Rick Kinsman, representing Electrical Contractors.

Representative Johnsen moved to excuse Representative Brenda Carter from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Wozniak adjourned the meeting at 6:35 PM.

Representative Douglas Wozniak, Chair

Hazel Campbell-Crawley Committee Clerk hcrawley@house.mi.gov